“It’s an honor to follow in the footsteps of the talented young ladies who have played Annie before me and I can’t wait to start this journey,” Smith said in a statement after her casting was announced in August 2021.  Now, with NBC airing the musical event live on Thursday, Dec. 2 at 8 p.m. ET (and available to stream on Peacock the next day), Smith is ready to take center stage alongside seasoned stars Taraji P. Henson (who plays Miss Hannigan), Tituss Burgess (Rooster Hannigan), Harry Connick Jr. (Daddy Warbucks), Nicole Scherzinger (Grace Farrell) and more. “It’s just so amazing to be able to perform with such an iconic cast,” Smith previously said on TODAY. “Just being a part of this production is an amazing opportunity and I’m so excited to be here in New York.” So while we wait to watch her light up beloved musical’s titular role, here’s everything we know about Celina Smith, from how she got the part of Annie to what she likes to do outside of showbiz. 

How old is Annie Live’s Celina Smith?

While the beloved orphan Annie is said to be 10 years old (according to the 1982 film version), Smith is currently 12. She recently opened up about achieving accolades at a young age, telling Digital Journal that her advice for other aspiring actors is to “take your time, enjoy the process, and don’t rush it—because if you rush it, you won’t enjoy it the way it should be enjoyed.” When asked what success looks like to her, the young star responded, “I don’t know. I mean, again, I’m 12. I haven’t reached that peak of success yet. There’s a bunch more stuff that I want to be able to do before, I don’t know… 30! But success in my words is just enjoying what you do.”

What did Celina Smith star in before Annie Live!?

Despite her young age, Smith is no stranger to the stage and screen. After playing Young Nala in a national tour of The Lion King, she won the role of Rebecca in Tyler Perry’s Young Dylan. The Nickelodeon sitcom centers on an aspiring hip hop star, Dylan, who is sent to the suburbs to live with Rebecca and the rest of his affluent cousins. Smith told PhotoBook that there are “a lot of” comparisons between Rebecca and Annie, including their “optimism,” as she says both characters “will find a way through tough situations when they have to.”

When did Annie Live!’s Celina Smith start performing?

Smith caught the acting bug long ago; she first started performing at camp as a 7-year-old after realizing that cartwheels might not be in her wheelhouse.  “My parents would say I was born performing but I was probably around 7 years old [when I started],” Smith told InBetween. “I was doing gymnastics, but my parents decided my cartwheels weren’t getting any better and they enrolled [me] in a performing arts camp… and the rest is history!”

When did Celina Smith start rehearsing for Annie Live!?

While the sun will come out tomorrow, Annie Live! will come out on Thursday, Dec. 2 at 8 p.m. ET. But the production has been in the works for much longer; rehearsals started back on Oct. 18., when director Neil Meron wrote on Instagram, “Day 1 … And there will be lots of #Tomorrows.” NBC gave fans a glimpse behind the scenes in November, posting a rehearsal video of Smith practicing the beloved Broadway hit “Tomorrow.” Fans also got a sneak peek at Smith in action during the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade last week, where she rocked the iconic red dress and sang a medley of Annie tunes. “When we were rehearsing ‘N.Y.C.’…there are so many elements in that number,” Smith told TheGrio of what to expect from another of the classics she’ll be belting. “When I tell you it’s one of the most iconic numbers in the entire play… I am so excited for you to see it!” 

How was Celina Smith cast in Annie Live!?

Smith was selected from a nationwide open casting call for a “young future star,” which, according to PEOPLE, listed requirements including “a heart of gold… an excellent voice with a strong high belt, great comedic timing and excellent dance skills.”  And it certainly wasn’t a hard-knock day for Smith when she got the call that she’d been cast in the iconic role. “We were in my mom’s room and my team called and they were like, ‘What are you going to be doing this October?’” she told TODAY of getting the big break. “I screamed.”

Where is Annie Live!’s Celina Smith from?

The 12-year-old triple threat lives in Atlanta with her parents. She credits her family, including sisters Jessica and Maia, with helping her achieve her career goals, while telling InBetween that her parents have let her “try different things.” “My mom and my dad have helped my career by giving up so much so that I can do what I love,” she added. “My mom toured with me for over a year. My dad would fly out to visit us on the road.”

What are Celina Smith’s hobbies outside of acting?

If she’s not on the stage, you just might find Smith in the swimming pool. When not busy with Annie, she typically takes swimming lessons. The young multi-hyphenate also puts her pipes to use for fun, as her YouTube channel includes covers of Billie Eilish and Meghan Trainor songs.  Another way she channels her creativity? Practicing her makeup skills. “I don’t do [makeup] professionally, but I just like to do it,” she told PhotoBook Magazine. “I did a video recently doing my mom’s makeup. It was really funny.” Next, From Annie to And Just Like That, These Are Sarah Jessica Parker’s 10 Best Roles 

Who Is Annie Live  Star Celina Smith  Age  How She Got The Role - 92