In addition to her starring role in the cherished franchise, McGovern is a seasoned theatrical performer. She wrote and is currently starring in Ava: The Secret Conversations in London, in which she portrays iconic Hollywood actress Ava Gardner. The play, she jokes, is keeping her in shape these days. “It’s a good physical and mental workout—I’m fit as a fiddle.” And if on-screen and on-stage actress isn’t enough, she also tours with her band, Sadie and the Hotheads. And all of this, McGovern says, is a whole lot easier these days thanks to a double hip replacement in 2020. We caught up with McGovern to hear about the surgery’s long-term impact, what it was like to reunite with the cast of Downton Abbey and how she’s embracing going gray. Why was a double hip replacement necessary? Before my hip surgery, I had chronic pain for years. I can do so much more now. It’s just been so liberating. I couldn’t have done this play without a lot of pain. The surgery gave me a whole new lease on life, that’s for sure. And it’s incredibly common, I’ve come to realize. What does a typical routine look like for you now in order to stay well? After getting off stage or set now, I like to unwind with mild exercise. Just getting back in tune with my body and what it’s telling me. I’ve recently discovered Sarah Beth Yoga [on YouTube]. I love her, so I turn that on my phone. And I don’t even bother to get changed; I just kind of stretch out. I can do that anywhere and find it very effective. What are your favorite ways to stay physically fit? My most recent routine is a daily swim. It totally resets me. Ten laps at my local gym do me fine. Then, I stroll along the river from my house to the theater. And eight shows a week of Ava: The Secret Conversations completes my fitness regime. It’s a workout. I change clothes seven times and dash from one side of backstage to the other, ripping my costume off in transit. Every now and then, I think, ‘Should I be doing this at my age?’ But I love it. It’s torture, and I absolutely love it. How important are rituals in your own health and wellness journey? I love regular habits. Imposing the discipline of your own regular routine, for me, is mentally healthy. But I’ve gotten used to a life that is always adjusting to different time schedules. If I’m doing a play, it’s a completely different schedule than doing a film. If I’m doing a film, I’m getting up at 5 a.m. So, I’ve found that just trying to impose regularity with eating and sleeping is always helpful. Tell us about filming the latest Downton Abbey movie. Reuniting with everyone for the Downton movie was really fun. It’s a role that I fit into very comfortably now having grown into it for all these years. It’s almost like a little holiday. When I first moved to London, I honestly didn’t understand a word people said, although they were obviously speaking English. The references are so different. The humor is different. By now, I’ve been here longer than I’ve been anywhere, so it’s really home. And I feel really part of the actor community. That was one of the nicest things about Downton is that I felt like I was really accepted because of the show into that community. And it was just such an unusual door that opens—a one in a gazillion chance. How important is your life on the road, touring with your band Sadie and the Hotheads? Touring with my band is an opportunity to see parts of the country I might not ordinarily see. I like it more than being a tourist. Every day is more vivid. There’s a focus. It’s more alive. I engage with people I meet with gratitude. I’m genuinely thrilled when anyone makes the effort to come out to see us. [I’ve never done] exhaustive touring for long periods of time, so it’s still fresh and exciting. It’s like a miracle every day. While on the road, I don’t change my habits too much. I don’t go wild. We work really hard to put on a great show. We’re always practicing. I eat a lot of nuts and drink a lot of water. I’ll have a glass of red wine after a show—I never drink before we perform. After that, I pretty much go to bed. How did quarantining and dealing with a pandemic over the past two years affect you? Lockdown was an opportunity to rediscover simple things, and that was very liberating for me. [I realized] that we can be happy not running around all the time. We can be happy in our own little environment. It’s about making that mental adjustment. There’s a part of me that misses that serene time. I haven’t figured out how to keep that in my daily life. I’ve also recently embraced my gray hair, which was a necessity during lockdown. But I also thought, God this feels good. I don’t have to be at the hair salon all the time. I think a lot of people had a similar experience. What are you doing in your free time? I’m rediscovering reading books. Brains need workouts, too. They need exercise. I feel good when I can lose myself in a book for a day. When I’m not working, I like to see my daughters [Matilda, 28, and Grace, 24], joke around with their dad Simon, read, watch TV, see movies, go to shows, work in the garden and clean the house. In that order. Next, Everything You Need to Know About Downton Abbey 2

Elizabeth McGovern Says She s  Not Nearly as Nice  as Her Downton Abbey Character - 51